Dates for the diary

Today we had our initial consultation to begin the process of trying for a sibling. I must confess I’ve spent the last few days worrying about it. Thinking of walking back into the clinic fills me with dread. I remember how I felt that first time almost four years ago. I cried all the way to the hospital, just about held it together during the appointment and then cried all the way home.


However,as we make our journey to the clinic I don’t have the nerves I’m expecting. I’m feeling strangely relaxed, as we walk in it all feels so familiar and yet I’m calm.

The dr calls us through and asks where she recognises us from. When I say ‘here’ she says ‘but not this clinic?’ I tell her she had collected my eggs previously, this brings a smile to her face.  The chat is relaxed and friendly. But she repeatedly mentions how time has passed since our last cycles, I think she’s telling me I’m getting old.

As we leave we make the dates for our next two appointments. The first is on Monday, to complete the consent forms and for me to have my AMH retested and the infection screening. The second at the end of April for our teach appointment. I’m a little surprised at how quickly it’s all moving, but at least there’s not too much waiting around.

Today is also the day three years ago that we found out our third cycle had been successful.

Leave a Reply

